OVERCLOCK.news
Live Feature
Feature hardware

The clock chip that lets a gaming motherboard hold 256GB of RAM in two slots

Intel's newest desktop chips support 128GB memory modules, and GIGABYTE has run two of them at DDR5-7200. The trick is a small clock driver on the module itself. Here is how it works.

By OVERCLOCK September 15, 2026 3 min read 5 sources
BlueskyXRedditMail

For as long as people have built gaming PCs there has been a rule about memory: you can have a lot of it or you can have it fast, and the more you fit, the slower it tends to run. This year a small chip on the memory stick is bending that rule. In March Intel launched its Core Ultra 200S Plus desktop processors, the $299 Core Ultra 7 270K Plus and the $199 Core Ultra 5 250K Plus, with early support for what it calls 4-rank CUDIMM memory, which can hold up to 128GB on a single module. Two of them make 256GB, in just two slots.

GIGABYTE's promotional image of three Z890 motherboards, one white and two black, above a blue icy landscape, captioned Next-Generation Z890 Platform with CQDIMM Technology.
GIGABYTE's Z890 boards built for 128GB modules. Its 256GB configurations use two modules, not four.Image: GIGABYTE

To see why that is hard, it helps to know what a rank is. A memory module carries a row of DRAM chips, and a rank is one set of those chips that the processor reads and writes together as a single block. More ranks means more chips, and more chips means more capacity. It also means more electrical load on the wires between the processor and the module. One of the signals that suffers is the clock, the timing beat every chip on the module listens to. The more chips it has to reach, the more its edges blur, and a blurred clock forces the memory to run slower.

A CUDIMM, short for clocked unbuffered DIMM, deals with that by adding one chip: a clock driver on the module itself. The processor sends its clock to the clock driver, and the clock driver sends a fresh copy on to the memory chips, so the processor only has to drive one clean load instead of many. The data still travels straight between the processor and the memory chips, which is what unbuffered means; only the clock gets the help. When Micron began shipping CUDIMMs in volume in October 2024, it said they ran at up to 6,400 MT/s at standard JEDEC settings, 15% faster than DDR5 without a clock driver.

The retail boxes of the Intel Core Ultra 7 270K Plus and Core Ultra 5 250K Plus desktop processors, both black, side by side on white.
Intel's Core Ultra 200S Plus. The $299 270K Plus and $199 250K Plus brought early support for 4-rank CUDIMMs of up to 128GB each.Image: Intel

Four-rank modules point the same idea at capacity. A 4-rank module has twice the ranks of a typical dual-rank stick, and all the load that comes with them, and the clock driver is what is meant to keep it quick anyway. Intel's figure is up to 128GB per module. It is also careful to call this an emerging technology, supported on selected motherboards with its 800-series chipsets and arriving through 2026.

GIGABYTE has been the loudest about it. At CES in January it ran two 128GB modules at DDR5-7200 on a Z890 AORUS Tachyon ICE CQDIMM Edition board, which it called an industry first. CQDIMM is GIGABYTE's own name, and its release spells it out as a clocked unbuffered DIMM, the same thing the industry calls a CUDIMM. GIGABYTE says the rest of the gain comes from the motherboard: a circuit layout that reduces the load on each memory channel, and BIOS tuning of timing, signal synchronisation and voltage.

GIGABYTE's white Z890 AORUS Tachyon ICE CQDIMM Edition motherboard standing in a pale rocky landscape beside the words Capacity Without Compromise.
The board from the CES record. GIGABYTE ran two 128GB modules at DDR5-7200 on the Z890 AORUS Tachyon ICE CQDIMM Edition in January.Image: GIGABYTE

In March it put boards on sale built around the idea, the Z890 AORUS ELITE DUO X and Z890M FORCE DUO X WIFI7, each designed for the full 256GB in two 128GB modules. By Computex in June it was quoting speeds of up to 10,400 MT/s for the family, although that is an overclocking figure and the release does not say it holds at full capacity. It named seven memory makers it is working with: BIWIN, Corsair, G.Skill, Kingston, TeamGroup, V-Color and XPG.

Clocked DDR5, as the manufacturers state it
What Capacity Speed Who says, when
Crucial DDR5 CUDIMM at standard JEDEC settingsNot the pointUp to 6,400 MT/s, 15% faster than DDR5 without a clock driverMicron, Oct 2024
Intel Core Ultra 200S Plus with 4-rank CUDIMMUp to 128GB per moduleNot statedIntel, Mar 2026
Two 128GB modules, Z890 AORUS Tachyon ICE CQDIMM Edition256GB7,200 MT/sGIGABYTE, Jan 2026
Z890 Plus DUO X boards256GB in two modules supportedUp to 10,400 MT/s overclocked; not stated at full capacityGIGABYTE, Jun 2026
Each claim, from the company making it. None of these is an independent test. The 10,400 MT/s figure is an overclock, and GIGABYTE does not say it applies at 256GB.Sources: Micron, 15 October 2024; Intel, 11 March 2026; GIGABYTE via PR Newswire, 8 January, 26 March and 3 June 2026.

Who needs 256GB in a desktop? Not most gamers; games come nowhere near it. It is for people who want workstation amounts of memory on a desktop board: running several virtual machines, working on very large projects, or loading big AI models into system memory. Until now that usually meant filling four slots and accepting slower memory, or paying for a workstation platform.

Two cautions. It is early: Intel's own word for 4-rank CUDIMM support is emerging, and only selected boards have it. And 128GB modules are arriving in the middle of a memory price squeeze driven by AI data centers; GIGABYTE's releases name its memory partners but give no module prices. The engineering is the part worth knowing either way. A small chip on the module, doing one job, is what lets 256GB and high speed share two slots.

Sources

Every figure in this article traces to one of the following. Where a manufacturer and an independent test disagree, both are listed and the disagreement is stated in the text rather than resolved silently.

  1. Intel Intel Announces New Intel Core Ultra 200S Plus Series Desktop Processors 11 March 2026: early support for 4-rank CUDIMM memory, up to 128GB per module, on select Intel 800 Series motherboards, described as an emerging technology arriving through 2026; 270K Plus from $299 and 250K Plus from $199, available 26 March 2026. Also the image in figure 3.
  2. Micron Micron Fuels New Wave of AI PCs With Launch of Ultra-Fast Clock Driver DDR5 Memory Portfolio 15 October 2024: Crucial DDR5 CUDIMMs with a clock driver on the module, shipping in volume, JEDEC-standard speeds up to 6,400 MT/s, 15% faster than DDR5 without a clock driver.
  3. GIGABYTE GIGABYTE Announces World's First DDR5-7200 at Full 256GB with CQDIMM at CES 2026 8 January 2026: DDR5-7200 with two 128GB modules on the Z890 AORUS Tachyon ICE CQDIMM Edition; CQDIMM expanded as Clocked Unbuffered Dual In-Line Memory Module; circuit layouts reducing channel loading and BIOS tuning of timing, signal synchronisation and voltage; capacity traditionally traded against frequency. Also the image in figure 5.
  4. GIGABYTE GIGABYTE Z890 AORUS ELITE DUO X Now Available Featuring CQDIMM Leading Z890 Plus Series 26 March 2026: Z890 AORUS ELITE DUO X and Z890M FORCE DUO X WIFI7 available, enabling 256GB with two 128GB CQDIMM modules.
  5. GIGABYTE GIGABYTE Showcases Industry-leading CQDIMM Performance and Ecosystem Expansion at COMPUTEX 2026 3 June 2026: 256GB dual-DIMM configurations and speeds up to 10,400 MT/s, the latter given as a DDR5 overclocking figure; memory partners BIWIN, CORSAIR, G.SKILL, KINGSTON, TeamGroup, V-COLOR and XPG. Also the image in figure 1.

This is original work by OVERCLOCK, not a summary of another outlet's reporting. Specifications are as published by the manufacturer unless a measured figure is named as such; vendor performance claims are labelled with their precision and are not comparable across different numeric formats. Prices and availability change, and are accurate as of publication.

More hardware