Apple Watch Series 12
A new Health Sensing System, a Readiness score, and an accuracy superlative built on a study Apple ran itself. $399, shipping 18 September — and the Vitals app is still not a medical device.
01 What it costs
| Configuration | Price | Against Apple Watch Series 11 |
|---|---|---|
| 42mm | $399 | 46mm also available |
02 Not written on the wall
Everything below is published by Apple. None of it is on the poster.
-
Does less
The Vitals app is for wellness only, and Apple says so
Apple states the Vitals app is for wellness purposes and not intended for medical use. No FDA clearance and no CE mark is named for the new sensing system in the launch material. A Readiness score of 'Recover' is a suggestion from a consumer product, not a clinical finding, and nothing here should be taken to a doctor as one.
apple.com -
Read this
The accuracy superlative rests on Apple's own study
The claim of the most accurate heart rate sensing and step tracking in a smartwatch is based on an internal Apple study run in July and August 2026. Apple does not name the competing devices tested, the sample size, or a peer-reviewed publication. It may well be true; it is not independently checkable as published.
apple.com -
Costs more
The Health app's headline feature costs $119 a time, and is not included
The redesigned Health app adds lab tests covering more than 50 biomarkers at approximately 2,000 Quest Diagnostics locations, at $119 per panel. That is 30 percent of the price of the watch, per test, paid separately and repeatedly — and it appears in the same announcement as the hardware.
apple.com -
Does less
The lab tests are US-only, English-only, and not out yet
Quest Diagnostics is a United States laboratory network. Apple states the service arrives later this year, starting in U.S. English. Everyone outside the US is buying the watch without the Health app feature announced beside it, with no published date.
apple.com -
Read this
Sampling every five seconds is a battery decision as much as a health one
Continuous 5-second heart rate sampling and up to 24x more frequent HRV readings are the marquee changes, and Apple publishes no battery figure alongside them in the Series 12 announcement — while the Ultra 4, launched the same day with the same sensing system, leads on endurance numbers.
apple.com
03 Against the Apple Watch Series 11
| Spec | Apple Watch Series 12 | Apple Watch Series 11 | Basis |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chip | S11 | Not stated in Apple's launch material | Published spec |
| Heart rate sampling | Every 5 seconds, all day | Not stated in Apple's launch material | Published spec |
| Heart rate variability | Up to 24x more often than before | Baseline Apple compares against, unnamed | Vendor claim |
| Readiness score | 0–10, four verdicts: Recover, Pace Yourself, Ready, Go For It | Not present | Published spec |
| Heart rate & step accuracy | "Most accurate in a smartwatch" | Comparison set not published | Vendor claim |
| Sizes | 42mm and 46mm | 42mm and 46mm | Published spec |
04 Everything here is checkable
A Launch File collects published figures from the manufacturer and other named sources. Claims labelled Vendor claim are the manufacturer's own and have not been independently verified. OVERCLOCK does not sell this product and earns nothing from the links above.